Skip to content

3 Ways To Quit Your Job

January 17, 2012

In most new year resolution lists, ‘finding a better job’ typically always figures in the top 10. However, this post is’nt about helping you decide if you should or should not quit your job. If you have’nt decided for sure that you want to quit, then please read other posts first.

This post is for you if you have made up your mind to leave your job, and hopefully have found a new one using Twitter, Facebook, or other means.

3 ways to quit your job - myJoblinx

So if you have made your decision, here are 3 ways that you can use to quit your job. They mostly depend on your relationship with your boss and employer, and how you want to maintain that relationship. I have seen all three of these techniques in my twelve plus years of experience in recruiting and human resources. Obviously, number 1 and number 2 are the more common ones, with number 3 occurring every now and then.

1) The “It’s not you, it’s me” approach

This is probably the safest  approach if you don’t want to burn any bridges. Think of it like breaking up with your significant other or the nice way to back off from that first date. Why is it safe? It’s because you are really complimenting your boss and your employer in a back handed way. You portray the reason for your leaving to be other than anything that’s wrong with the company or your boss. Individuals using this approach often don’t give a direct answer to any question on why they are leaving, but defer to the standard response indicating everything has been great and it’s time to move on.

Here’s an example way to do this:

Hi [boss],

It’s difficult for me to write this, but I have decided to  make a change and will be joining another company. I have truly enjoyed my time working for you and you have contributed to my growth in a lot of ways. My last day will be on [date]. I wish you and [company name] continued success. Thank you again for all your help and support during my time at [company name] and I look forward to our paths crossing again.

2) The “Neither here, nor there” approach

Another common approach and a fairly straight forward one. In this case, the resignation letter includes a simple and direct “I have decided to make a change and [date] shall be my last day of employment here”. This is as dry as it can be and followed by individuals who do not have a good working relationship with their boss.  With this approach, you keep your ‘true’ feelings to yourself and you don’t burn any bridges. If you are unsure of quitting or the new job you are going to, then follow this approach and you just may have an open door to come back to this company.

Here’s an example:

Hi [boss],

I have accepted another offer and my last day of work will be on [date]. Please let me know how you would like me to hand over my job responsibilities. Thank you for your support and I wish you the very best.

3) The “Going out in a blaze of glory” approach

If you really have had a miserable experience and want to burn the boats, then follow this approach. When you are writing your resignation letter, think of this song. Just remember that by doing this, it is going to be nearly impossible for you to come back to this company. So make sure you have thought thru your decision to quit. Paul Carr has a great post on stunt resignations and he used some of these when he resigned from TechCrunch. This probably worked well for Paul because he’s a reporter and that’s his style. For the majority of the employed, this can be disastrous. So know yourself and your options before you follow this approach, no matter how horrible your boss is.

This should be easy to type up because you must be very frustrated if you’ve decided on this approach. But in case you need some ideas, here’s an example:

Hey there [boss],

I am very dissapointed with you and how you handled [specific situation]. I am even more dissapointed that no one in top management noticed or if they did, they turned a Nelson’s eye towards this issue. This is unacceptable and really very sad. I cannot see myself working for such an individual and company. Effective immediately, I am turning in my resignation. I will spend all my time at the new company competing with you and will do my best to bring you down. I hope I succeed.

Do you have any tips on how someone should quite their job? Have you followed any of the above way to quit your job? Chime in in the comments.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ralph Detert permalink
    January 28, 2012 2:40 am

    Sorry, but I don’t like any of these approaches. Honest feedback would be beneficial for both parties as long as people are not alianating their boss or the company.

    • January 28, 2012 8:00 pm

      Ralph,

      Honest feedback is definitely the best. However, too much honesty can backfire in work settings and one should only be brutally honest if their boss is like their best friend. Unfortunately, very few employees have that kind of a good relationship with their bosses. So it’s best to be professional in a majority of cases.

      Raj

  2. Stephanie permalink
    March 13, 2012 11:44 am

    These are great tips and in a somewhat humorous way! I dont really want to quit my job right now but it was fun reading your post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

